The Sloan Digital Sky Survey (SDSS) is a joint project of The University of Chicago, Fermilab, the Institute for Advanced Study, the Japan Participation Group, The Johns Hopkins University, the Max-Planck-Institute for Astronomy (MPIA), the Max-Planck-Institute for Astrophysics (MPA), New Mexico State University, Princeton University, the United States Naval Observatory, and the University of Washington. Apache Point Observatory, site of the SDSS telescopes, is operated by the Astrophysical Research Consortium (ARC).


Funding Agencies

Funding for the project has been provided by the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, the SDSS member institutions, the National Aeronautics and Space Administration, the National Science Foundation, the U.S. Department of Energy, the Japanese Monbukagakusho, and the Max Planck Society.


Other Support

The Early Data Release is the product of efforts by many individuals supported by many institutions. The Johns Hopkins University has had a lead role in the design and implementation of the SDSS database and the associated query tools. The Space Telescope Science Institute has developed some of the web interfaces, coordinated the assembly of user documentation, and intends to provide long term support for the public SDSS science archive. Fermilab has provided key support for the data servers, system testing, and archive project management. The Microsoft Bay Area Research Center helped develop the SkyServer and its interface, and Microsoft Research and Compaq Computer Co. have contributed computing hardware for the SkyServer.



The following is an incomplete list of the people who have contributed to the SkyServer:

Development: Tom Barclay, Karen Brown, Roy Gal, Jim Gray, Steve Kent, Peter Kunszt, Rich Kron, Steve Landy, Blair Lanier, Tanu Malik, Jordan Raddick, Robert Sparks, Chris Stoughton, Mark SubbaRao, Don Slutz, Alex Szalay, Tamas Szalay, Ani Thakar, Jan Vandenberg

Translation: Sadanori Okamura, Naoki Yasuda, Matthias Bartelmann

Testing: Rosa Gonzalez, Kausar Yasmin, Karl Glazebrook

Publicity: Shannon Aronin, Dick Henry, Flavio Mendez